Reviews

Reviews 2017-08-09T12:28:15+00:00

A great location to explore and experience unspoiled rural Ireland. We were even greeted by the cuckoo call on arrival. Ideal quiet country roads and lanes to cycle or walk on. The Cavan Burren transports you thousands of years back in time, while the Arigna mines tour is an incredible more recent historical story. The atlantic coast is a spectacular drive away through hidden valleys and past tempting mountains. Uncle Michael’s Cottage is warm, inviting, well equipped, cosy and welcoming. We cannot wait to return and further enjoy this beautiful place.

Real Ireland, May 2017
I have visited this area several times, having family near-by, but this was the MOST enjoyable vacation–thanks to Majella and Michael and their beautiful, warm, modern cottage. It is just off the main road with a beautiful view of the lake, with sheep and cows in the fields outside your door. The beds were great and plenty of hot water for the showers in the modern bathrooms. We arrived late but the owner met us with a roaring fire and the kettle on. I will and have already recommended this cottage to several relatives and friends who are planning a visit to this part of Ireland. Ireland is changing fast, but the west remains rustic and beautiful with the friendliest people waiting to meet you.
This is real Ireland., April 2017
Uncle Michael`s cottage rests in a beautiful and peaceful country setting. It is a few miles from the larger town of Blacklion but only a ten minute walk from the small village of Glenfarne. The views of Loch MacNean are breathtaking and majestic. The cottage itself is immaculate, well furnished and extremely comfortable. A sense of being at one with nature surrounds the cottage and at night a peaceful silence is illuminated by a starry sky, uncontaminated by urban lighting. Majella and Michael are ideal hosts, offering a warm friendly welcome and allowing the visitor space to enjoy the privacy afforded by the cottage. I would definitely hope to return sometime in the future.
DOES WHAT IS SAYS !!!, Jan 2017

From start to finish our stay (5 adults) was perfect. We enjoyed a warm welcome from Majella who had the fire going when we arrived on a cold evening. The cottage itself is well equipped, very spacious and beautifully finished. We look forward to our next stay.

A peaceful, home from home, December 2016
High quality cottage beautifully renovated. Great location for exploring the north and the south. Warm and friendly welcome from the owner and a thoughtful and generous basket of goodies arrival. Would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to go back in the not too distant future.
Best place for a peaceful and relaxing getaway, August 2016

What a wonderful cottage in a beautiful setting. When I read the name “Uncle Michael’s Cottage” I imagined a homely haven of comfort and tranquillity and I wasn’t far wrong. We fell in love with this cottage (6 adults) as soon we stepped in the door onto the lovely stone floor. With its big wood burner fire (and a barn load of turf and logs in abundance at our convenience) and cosy sofas it was hard to get motivated once the fire was lit as all we wanted to do was lie there and do nothing lol. We liked the open plan idea as it meant we could all chat in the one room if we were either chilling or cooking. A downstairs bedroom and bathroom with shower were fantastic as my dad couldn’t do stairs, so great for anyone in a wheelchair etc. The two bedrooms upstairs were spacious and beautifully decorated too with beds that has to be said were the most comfortable we have ever slept in in our life and that includes my own bed.  I could go on and on but it really has to be seen to be believed. I would not hesitate to go back, even a winter weekend would be nice just to curl up at that beautiful log burning fire. Overall a great wee spot for families and couples alike who wanna spend time together and enjoy a wee bit of heaven. Thank you so much Michael and Majella and family for letting us share your wee bit of heaven.

A haven of beauty and tranquility in a busy world., August 2016
We enjoyed a fabulously relaxing stay at Uncle Michael’s Cottage with its view over Lough MacNean. Sitting outside with a glass of wine, breathing in the peace, was pure bliss. The cottage has been beautifully restored and includes all modern comforts. There is a big stove in the living room / diner with plenty of logs and turf to keep it going. The solar panels ensured we were never out of hot water. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated with ample wardrobe space. There is a shower / toilet downstairs and a downstairs bedroom. Up the rich carpet clad stairs, take a perfect view of a traditional uthouse through the picture window. There are two bedrooms upstairs, a double and triple and a big bathroom with a fantastically large bath. The owners have included lovely finishing touches, such as candles to enjoy in the bath and lovely hand soap and creams. We were treated to a generous welcome basket on arrival which was really lovely after the long drive. I would definitely recommend a stay here.
Tranquillity and Comfort, August 2016
We had a fantastic stay in this beautiful cottage. Will definitely return in the future.
Rita, Dalkey, May 2016
We have all had a great stay at this wonderful cottage. Fire was brilliant and plenty of turf to keep it going. We will most certainly be back in the future.
Martin, Antrim, June, 2016
Such a beautiful compact cottage that was equipped for our comfort and all our needs. The location was brill and we hope to return another time. I just wish I could take Uncle Michael’s cottage home!!
Eileen & Paul, Armagh, June, 2016

More Tripadvisor reviews: